BRISBANE TOLKIEN FELLOWSHIP DATES AND EVENTS 2016

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship is a Social Group for fans of Tolkien’s Middle-earth, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. We also encourage the enjoyment of Sci-Fi/Fantasy books and movies. We hold Social events on a regular basis and do library presentations.

  • WE HAVE A BUSY CALENDAR FROM JULY TO OCTOBER. (See more below)
  • We are planning a Hobbit Picnic for children September 24th.
  • Our annual Dinner Dance, “An Evening in Middle-earth” will be held on October 15th at Enoggera Bowls Club. This will be our fourth Dinner Dance.
  • We also have booths at both Gold Coast and Brisbane Supanovas each year.
  • Supanova,  BRISBANE 2016. November 11-13.

Our goals through meetings, presentations, events and friendships in enjoyable surroundings are to continue the tradition of educating people about Tolkien’s stories and to share knowledge and wonderful collectables with a wider audience. We aim to meet people with similar interests and to develop relationships. Second Breakfast Book Club is a BTF organised Sci-Fi and Fantasy book club that meets the third Sunday of every month at 11am, Mary Ryan’s book shop in Milton. Upcoming books for discussion:

  • 21 August 2016: Foundation (Book 1 of the Foundation trilogy) by Isaac Asimov
  • 18 September 2016: The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien
  • 23 October 2016: Dracula by Bram Stoker

Film Noldor Movie Club is a sci -fi and fantasy movie club organised by Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship. The club meets on the first Saturday of every second month.

  • Next meeting has not been decided yet, due to various issues. We will update this once we have reached an agreement.

Library Presentations: During each year we hold Library events, set up displays and give presentations about some aspect of Tolkien’s World. In March each year we celebrate Tolkien Reading Day at one or more Libraries.  Library Events upcoming:-

  • Logan North, Saturday 20th, August, 2:00 pm – Middle-earth Movie Locations in N. Z.
  • Logan North, Saturday 27th, August, 9:00 am- Celebration and Costume Day.
  • Sunnybank Hills, Saturday 10th, September, TBA – Middle-earth Movie Locations in N. Z.
  • Logan North, Wednesday 21st, September, 10:00 am – The Hobbit for Children.
  • Logan North, Thursday 22nd, September, 6:00 am – Middle-earth Trivia Night.
  • Ashgrove, Thursday 29th, September, TBA – The publishing phenomenon of Tolkien’s World.
Share - Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply