Meetings

BRISBANE TOLKIEN FELLOWSHIP DATES AND EVENTS 2016

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship is a Social Group for fans of Tolkien’s Middle-earth, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. We also encourage the enjoyment of Sci-Fi/Fantasy books and movies. We hold Social events on a regular basis and do library presentations.

  • WE HAVE A BUSY CALENDAR FROM JULY TO OCTOBER. (See more below)
  • We are planning a Hobbit Picnic for children September 24th.
  • Our annual Dinner Dance, “An Evening in Middle-earth” will be held on October 15th at Enoggera Bowls Club. This will be our fourth Dinner Dance.
  • We also have booths at both Gold Coast and Brisbane Supanovas each year.
  • Supanova,  BRISBANE 2016. November 11-13.

Our goals through meetings, presentations, events and friendships in enjoyable surroundings are to continue the tradition of educating people about Tolkien’s stories and to share knowledge and wonderful collectables with a wider audience. We aim to meet people with similar interests and to develop relationships. Second Breakfast Book Club is a BTF organised Sci-Fi and Fantasy book club that meets the third Sunday of every month at 11am, Mary Ryan’s book shop in Milton. Upcoming books for discussion:

  • 21 August 2016: Foundation (Book 1 of the Foundation trilogy) by Isaac Asimov
  • 18 September 2016: The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien
  • 23 October 2016: Dracula by Bram Stoker

Film Noldor Movie Club is a sci -fi and fantasy movie club organised by Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship. The club meets on the first Saturday of every second month.

  • Next meeting has not been decided yet, due to various issues. We will update this once we have reached an agreement.

Library Presentations: During each year we hold Library events, set up displays and give presentations about some aspect of Tolkien’s World. In March each year we celebrate Tolkien Reading Day at one or more Libraries.  Library Events upcoming:-

  • Logan North, Saturday 20th, August, 2:00 pm – Middle-earth Movie Locations in N. Z.
  • Logan North, Saturday 27th, August, 9:00 am- Celebration and Costume Day.
  • Sunnybank Hills, Saturday 10th, September, TBA – Middle-earth Movie Locations in N. Z.
  • Logan North, Wednesday 21st, September, 10:00 am – The Hobbit for Children.
  • Logan North, Thursday 22nd, September, 6:00 am – Middle-earth Trivia Night.
  • Ashgrove, Thursday 29th, September, TBA – The publishing phenomenon of Tolkien’s World.

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship 2016

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship: For fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and all things Middle-earth.

We are registered as a Smial of the Tolkien Society.

We are a Social Charity Group and we do possess an ACN number and are insured for events.

We hold regular get-togethers for varying interests… Books, Movies, Costumes, Entertainment and more.

  • Second Breakfast Book Club is Sunday, 21st August,  “Foundation” by Isaac Asimov: 10:00 am  at Mary Ryan’s at Milton.
  • We have Booths at Brisbane Supanova November 11th – 13th. Two Fan Photo Booths and tables to sell Middle-earth Fan created items.
  • Film Noldor Club (once every 2 months).
  • Tolkien related Library Presentations and Displays throughout the year.
  • An annual Middle-earth Themed Dinner Dance each year in October.(This year October 15th)
  • Meetings with Dinner once every two Months.
  • And attend or create other events throughout the year. E.g. Hobbit Week (September) Imagination Month (August), Gold Coast Supanova (April).

Profits from Monies we collect throughout the year are donated to The Pyjama Foundation annually. To date, we have donated over $7 000 as well as books and calculators to their education programs.

We invite you to join our group, because we are always looking for new passionate fans and people with new ideas and input.

INTERNATIONAL TOLKIEN READING DAY

The theme for Tolkien Reading Day 2016 is Life, Death, and Immortality in J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle-earth.

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship will be celebrating Tolkien Reading Day – weekend 19-20 March (the following weekend is Easter).

  • Tolkien Reading Day is an international event held on the 25th of March each year and
    celebrated by Tolkien Groups worldwide. It has been organised by the Tolkien Society since 2003 to encourage fans to celebrate and promote the life and works of J.R.R. Tolkien by reading favourite passages.
  • The 25th of March is the date of the downfall of the Lord of the Rings (Sauron) and the fall of Barad-dûr. It’s as simple as that!
  •  “To be caught in youth by 1914 was no less hideous an experience than in 1939 … by 1918 all but one of my close friends were dead.” — J.R.R. Tolkien, “Foreword to the Second Edition”, The Lord of the Rings.
  • The theme was chosen for 2016 to coincide with the one-hundredth anniversary of the Battle of the Somme. Tolkien fought and survived this dreadful battle, but lost his close friend and fellow T.C.B.S. member Rob Gilson. The death of other close friends during World War One, undoubtedly shaped Tolkien’s outlook on life and death, with mortality and immortality looming large in the Middle-earth legendarium.

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship will be celebrating at the following Libraries with readings, discussions and A/V Presentations:

  • March 19, Saturday – Logan North Library, commences at 11:00 am (Southside)
  • March 20, Sunday – Chermside Library, commences at 1:00 pm. (Northside)

We invite people to come along and join the audience and if you would like to do a reading/discussion you are most welcome to contribute to the program.

For further details, please contact  0437 353 254

2016 Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship Events

Brisbane Tolkien Fellowship has some great events organised this year to suit many interests … Hope you can come along and join us at one or more of these.

  • Film Noldor Club – March 5
  • Club Dinner Meeting – March 11
  • International Tolkien Reading Day – March 19-20
  • Second Breakfast Book Club – March 20
  • Supanova Gold Coast – April 9-10
  • NZ Movie Locations – July 29
  • Imagine Month – August
  • Hobbit Week – September
  • Dinner Dance – October 15
  • Supanova Brisbane – November

Film Noldor Club - March 5,   will be at “Lord of the Wings”, Carindale Shopping Centre, Saturday, March 5, Noon. Movie for discussion is “The Fellowship of the Ring”. Film Noldor is the first Saturday of every second month.

Club Dinner Meeting  – March 11, Friday at 6:30 pm, Enoggera Bowls Club. Discussing Tolkien Reading Day, Supanova and other topics raised. Club meetings are the second Friday of each month.

International Tolkien Reading Day

  • March 19, Saturday – Logan North Library, commences at 11:00 am
  • March 20, Sunday – Chermside Library, commences at  1:00 pm.

The Theme this year is “Life, Death and Immortality” in Middle-earth. If you would like to do a reading and/or discussion, let us know. 

Second Breakfast Book Club – March 20 will be at the Food Court next to Woolworths at Chermside Shopping Centre (Northern end of the centre). –  commences at 10:00 am Sunday March 20th. Book for discussion is “The Assassin’s Apprentice” by Robin Hobb. Book Club is the third Sunday of each month.

Supanova Gold Coast – April 9-10 We have two Photo Booths, Bag End and Dwarf Barrel, as well as two tables selling Club and Hobbit Themed items and running a raffle. We have two Photo Booths, Bag End and Dwarf Barrel, as well as two tables selling Club and Hobbit Themed items and running a raffle. We still require volunteers to assist on our Booth at Supanova Gold Coast, April 9-10.

Other upcoming events in the second half of the year include… Information released after Easter.

  • NZ Movie Locations – July 29
  • Imagine Month – August
  • Hobbit Week – September
  • Dinner Dance – October 15
  • Supanova Brisbane – November

If you would like more information…contact 0437 353 254.

Second Breakfast Book Club.

BTF Fantasy Book Club - Second Breakfast Book Club.

A club for people who love to read books from the Fantasy Genre. Each month a book from an author’s work will be chosen: Tolkien, Hobb, Martin, Fiest, Robbins, Rowling, etc.

The book club will be held every third Sunday of the month at 11:00am at the Coffee Club in Milton.

The group meets and discusses a chosen book. Each person attending the meeting could volunteer to read a passage from the book that emphasises a theme from the story or a climatic incident, which the group can then discuss.

The group chairperson can call on member to volunteer the next Fantasy Book to be read before the next meeting.. That volunteer then has to come up with some questions for the group about the book in order to create discussion at the next meeting. Then the group is given a month to read the newly chosen book.

The first meeting will be on Sunday, 17th May, 11:00 am, Coffee Club, Park Road, Milton.

Our first book for discussion will be “The Hobbit”, Book v Movie.

Hobbit

BTF Events 2015 Update

BTF Events Coming in 2015

We have some special events for the rest of this year catering for different interests.

  1. Fan Creation Day, July 26
  2. Second Breakfast Book Club, May 17
  3. Hobbit Picnic in the Park, September 13
  4. An Evening in Middle-earth, October 14
  5. Library Presentations, June, August, September.
  6. Imagination Month, August
  7. Book Sale, August 22

Fan Creation Day, July 26, 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Enoggera Bowls Club

Including Presentations and Workshop, this will be a day to learn the various techniques of art and craft used to make the wonderful costumes and accessories you see at Conventions.

Second Breakfast Book Club, May 17, 11:00 p.m. Coffee Club, Park Road, Milton.

Come along and enjoy a second breakfast in the company of friends old and new followed by a discussion of a chosen book. This Club is for lovers of fantasy novels and authors. A monthly social gathering, a new book will be chosen for discussion each month.

Hobbit Picnic in The Park, Noon, September 13th

This is an afternoon of fun and activities for all the family to celebrate the Birthday of Bilbo and Frodo Baggins. We have a birthday cake to share with all the children in attendance.

An Evening in Middle-Earth – Brisbane’s Biggest Hobbit Party

October 14, 6:00 p.m. – Midnight

  • A Charity Dinner Dance supporting The Pyjama Foundation:
  • Special Guest Entertainer is Martin Pearson who is a renowned folk singer who will also take us through an hilarious send up of The Lord of the Rings.
  • D.J. Music for dancing late in the evening.
  • A Buffet Roast Dinner, with desserts and supper to follow.
  • Door Prizes, Costume Prizes, Raffles and other surprises throughout the evening.
  • Dine and be entertained in a wonderful Middle-earth setting.

Library Presentations, June, August, September.

In June there will be a “Hobbit Display” at the Chermside B.C.C. Library.

Imagination Month, August, Logan North Library,

We will have the Hobbit Hole on display and a Cabinet Display. During the month we will be giving two Tolkien Presentations.

Book Sale, August 22, 9:00 a.m. Saturday morning, Logan Central Library